Blarney Castle

One of the places on my list to go in Ireland was the Blarney Castle to kiss the Blarney Stone. I had heard not to actually kiss it because it isn’t exactly hygienic, but I felt I couldn’t have lived in Ireland for five months without doing it!

IMG_6219

We got up early on a Saturday morning and started our journey to Cork. I feel lucky to live in a country where things are so close and I am able to make day trips to see some of the well known places around Ireland. After about a three hour bus ride, we made it to Cork. We then had to get another bus that would take us to Blarney. This bus was a double decker bus and I felt like I was back in London again.

Once we got to Blarney, we walked a short distance to the castle and entered the grounds. The grounds surrounding the castle were beautiful and I can only imagine what they must look like in the summer. The towering castle stood above, capturing my attention. It was one of the coolest castles I had seen so far. It was so large and as we walked around, we were able to find small entrances and caves. I was cool to just wander around and explore.

IMG_6252

IMG_6256

After doing a walk through we decided to make our way to the stone. After all, that was the reason for our visit. As we made our way up to the top of the castle, I couldn’t help but to notice how narrow and short the staircase and doorways were. People must have been smaller back then because if you were even too much taller than me, you wouldn’t have fit through!

IMG_6257

Once we made it to the top we got an amazing view. There are few things I enjoy more than a beautiful sweeping view of Irish landscape. We then made our way over to the stone.

IMG_6224IMG_6220

I must say, the Blarney Stone was much different than I thought it would be. I guess I had never really seen pictures of the actual stone, but I thought it would be much larger than it was. In order to kiss it, you had to have someone hold you as well as hold onto handlebars. You arch back a ways before you are finally close enough to kiss the stone.

IMG_6226

They take pictures of you and allow you to view them and purchase them if you would like when you’re done. These are not flattering pictures, that’s for sure. The angle is so awkward that even a supermodel would look silly in one of those photos. I decided my iPhone photo would do.

IMG_6229

We spent some more time wandering around and found some cool waterfalls and walkways. It was fun to spend the afternoon walking through gardens and getting lost in the scenery.

IMG_6243

IMG_6249

IMG_6265

We eventually made our way back to town and got some dinner before heading home. I love seeing different parts of Ireland and experiencing as much of it as I can!

IMG_6258

IMG_6267

Check out my video of our trip to Blarney Castle:

Leave a Reply

