Getting Ready to Study Abroad

With two months left before I leave for my semester abroad in Ireland, I have started fully comprehend the adventure that is ahead of me. Studying abroad can be a pivotal point in a students college experience.

One of the things that attracted me to Linfield was the study abroad programs offered. I knew that I was going to study abroad, I just needed to pick a location. I am terrible with languages so I knew I needed an English speaking program. I have also always dreamed of traveling through Europe so that narrowed it down. As soon as I saw pictures of Ireland, I was sold.

As soon as I got my acceptance letter it hit me that I would be spending a semester in a foreign country. I have never been outside of the United States and got my first passport earlier this year.

I am nervous about navigating the streets of Ireland, going grocery shopping for myself and the small differences that are no doubt going to stand out to me as soon as I get there. Although I am apprehensive about some parts of going abroad, I am also excited to experience a different culture.

Everyone I have ever talked to says that it is a life changing experience and when else am I going to get the chance to live in a foreign country for five months? Traveling has been something I have always been passionate about and I am excited to do it on a global scale.

There are several Linfield programs that take students oversees for a semester or a Jan Term. Emma Beuerman and Margaret Lever will be participating in study abroad experiences this coming January.

Check out the video below to learn about what they are most excited for and what they are nervous about!

Leave a Reply

